top of page

MY FIRST BLOG!!!!


Hello! I am a Mom, wife, and photographer! I am a New England native, and moved to Seattle 9 years ago - I will never move back, but I sure do love to visit! I love being outdoors and spending time with my family. I feel very lucky to be in a field that I love, focusing on what I want to pursue, and being able to create with my family right along side me.

In 2013, my son was born. Motherhood (parenthood, really) changes EVERYTHING. It's like this filter is taken off and you see the whole world- and it is scary, big and beautiful. I would stare at him, wishing for him to create and find happiness in his everyday life and to follow his dreams. I felt like I was only living up to half of that. I wasn't pursuing anything that made me happy. I was in finances and hated it. And so I created Filling the Frame Photography. For my son. For me. To follow my dreams and create my own happiness.

In 2015, my entire world was shaken and turned upside down. On Nov, 3rd I received a call from my mother in the early hours of the morning. My "little" 26 year-old brother didn't wake up. I felt like everything was covered in this heavy film that I couldn't lift and pull off of me. I did a couple sessions while I was in MA thinking it would help with that heaviness, and it did for the length of the session, but I was immediately engulfed back. I flew back home after a month in MA and didn't pick up my camera for months and months. Then in September I photographed a wedding. It was so beautiful. So full of life. I came home that day and my husband was SO happy to see me again. It was like I had come back, and was riding this photography high. That week I realized I hadn't been that happy in a long time and how good it felt doing the wedding.

In 2016 & 2017, I was fairly busy. I have gotten all of my business through word of mouth and repeat clients. I have been so blessed to be this busy without advertising. I have been able to explore and create images from family sessions to newborns to weddings and have thoroughly enjoyed all the requests and new ideas! In 2017, I became a Magic Hour Photographer (I will definitely blog about that experience!!!) which has been an idea and a goal since the beginning, I just didn't know how to get there. The Magic Hour Foundation pairs photographers with cancer patients for free sessions & free prints. They are completely non-profit and are nationwide. I am so proud to be apart of their foundation. Also, in 2017 I became a venue photographer for the Seattle Art Museum and MV Skavonia (both amazing venues!!!) as a grow my business and venture to larger events.

2018, though, 2018 is THE year. I am doing so much more than just making a come back. I am going to be the best example of 'living life to fullest' I can be. I want to do this not only for my son and for me, but for my brother. I struggled with this idea for the last few years, but I think I am finally starting to grasp it. I shouldn't feel guilty for living, I should feel thankful for living. You never know how quickly it can all be taken away. I am focusing on the now; capturing it, embracing it, being thankful for it. So here we are. Welcome 2018. I am excited for you.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page