top of page

Kirstin + Travis

"So, What’s your favorite type of photography?"

I let out a long sigh. How does one choose a favorite? They are all so special in different ways... but if I had to choose, if there was one session that solidified my LOVE for what I do, it'd be MATERNITY SESSIONS.

And as I say this out loud I fully realize the cheesiness of that answer while on a maternity shoot with a client, being asked by a maternity client, BUT they really might be! First of all, your client is quite literally glowing. (I mean look at her!) How can you compete with that? Some women have pregnancy hair, others have flawless skin and strong gorgeous nails. I do try and time it 'right' so Mom feels as comfortable as possible. Secondly, anyone involved in the session is extremely happy and excited about the baby, and that shows in the photos. It can be hard sometimes to get adults excited about having their picture taken, but there is something incredibly magical about that bump. Something so obviously fleeting that you are eager to be photographed with it. And it shows.

Let me tell you about this crazy beautiful couple. Meet Kirstin and Travis. Look at those smiles!!!! I captured just one serious picture of this mama, and it was completely by mistake, but it's pretty obvious why I didn't ask her to stop smiling. (I don't think she could have anyway.) You can see why I love maternity sessions so much. Their eagerness to meet their little one is leaping out of the image.

Our session had a last minute location change, and I am so happy to have found this gem. I have been trying to find new and easier to access locations and this one could not have been more perfect. I mean seriously, rushing river and big rocks? Dreamy light with golden and mossy backdrops? (Yeah, you'll be seeing this location again.)

I just fell in love with these two. They were so warm and inviting. Ummmm.... Can they be MY parents? (just kidding, I love my Mom and Dad and I must be older than them) but seriously, how lucky is this baby?! I just loved our time together and love the images we created. Can't wait to hear when little baby boy has arrived!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page